41 And Just Begun

 

Last year I turned the big 4-0, and I could not have been more proud of what I have accomplished both in my career and in who I am as a person. Over the last 15 years, I have had the honor of working with celebrities like Priyanka Chopra and Shahana Goswami, had my work featured in several different publications such as Vogue India, Harper’s Bazaar, Bride India, and PopSugar Beauty, as well as painted the faces of so many beautiful brown women, whether they were my #KCBrides, #KCClients or those who attended my #KCMakeupMasterclass.

Not only has my career grown, but I too, have grown quite a bit. A lot of women are afraid to get older because they don’t want to age physically; but I have found that with age, comes wisdom.  And the more you learn and grow mentally, the better you age.

Just what have I learned?

1. Let go of things you can’t control and just live.
2. Focus on the positive; listen more and talk less.
3. Love yourself.
4. Often the simple things in life, are the most beautiful.

5. Last but not least…I find personal strength in educating women on their own beauty, and how to use it to it to their advantage.

As far as physically aging goes…rather than leaving things entirely to nature, I take care of my body by exercising regularly, keeping a strict skincare regimen and taking time out of each day to nurture my spiritual-self through meditation. Also, I give myself ‘time-outs’, by traveling to far off places and allowing myself to enjoy the fruits of my hard work (like I did for 10 days in Croatia this year).

I realize now, at the age of 41, I am in my prime. Not when I was in my 20’s, but NOW, in my 40’s!  And frankly, it’s only the beginning.

I’ve become more adventurous and daring in all aspects of my life; and cannot wait to see what else life has in store for me.

This shoot with Tara Sharma was a celebration of how I feel about myself and life at 41!

Enjoy the pics!

XOXO,

KC

kc-1

kc-2

kc-3

kc-4

kc-5

kc-6

kc-7

